Husbandry systems

Aviary system

In commonly used aviary systems the activities of the hens are divided into different zones:

  •     feeding and drinking areas (on the aviary block)
  •     sleeping and resting area (topmost level)
  •     litter area for scratching and dust bathing behaviour (areas with litter, that are simultaneously control corridors)
  •     egg-laying area (perches, nests)
Read more here.